“How do I know what art to buy?”

On my blog and Youtube channel I have stated how important it is to help other artists. To encourage them and inspire them to get their own art out in the world.

I firmly believe in this, but I wanted to put my money where my mouth is. So I have recently taken up buying art from local artists at art fairs. Starting my own art collection for my studio has been so exciting and rewarding, not to mention it helps out other artists’ sales. It feels so great to add joy to my own life through other art that I love.

There Goes the Sun.jpgHere is a new painting entitled, “There Goes the sun.” You can check it out in my shop!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/RKBeachPaintings

Of course, most of the pieces I have bought are ocean themed, but hey, that’s what I respond to.

And here is what I learned so far when it comes to purchasing original artwork or reproductions.

Buy from your gut! Yes! That is the ultimate tip. Don’t buy according to what is trending or what you may feel pressured to get. Buy the piece that grabs you the most.

Maybe it brings a tear to your eye?

Maybe it excites you or touches the pathos in your soul?

Maybe it fills you with joy?

These are reasons to buy art, because the truth is, you are going to be living with the artwork for many years to come. So why buy something that you don’t like? It should stop you in your tracks whenever you pass it by in your home.

Here is a piece I recently bought from marine artist Jen Callahan, who I am a HUGE fan of. I’m so glad I finally got to meet her in person at the Art in the Park in Plymouth, Michigan.

20170719_075718.jpg

I couldn’t quite swing the original she had just finished called “Turtle Tag” (although I really wanted it!), but I am now the proud new owner of the very first in the Limited Edition Print. And how did I come to pick this one? Well, because it tugged at my heart and I fell in love with the incredible array off soft colors. It is soothing, exciting, and whimsical.

So the moral of the story—only buy art that you MUST have! As long as you do that you can’t go wrong. Not to mention you won’t ever have to feel buyer’s remorse.

And don’t forget to check out the latest Ryan Kimba Youtube video! You can watch it below. And don’t forget to subscribe for future beach painting videos.

 

Until next time,

let’s bring some color into the world.

Ryan Kimba

http://www.ryankimbaart.com

http://www.etsy.com/shop/RKBeachPaintings

Official Banner

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings. My works are colorful, vibrant, and richly textured! I am also big into personal development.

Leave a Reply

