Painting your Favorite Animal

Glad to be back from the Bahamas! It was a wonderful trip I’ll never forget. I got to swim with a dolphin named Cortes, jet-ski on the ocean, and visit some tranquil, stunning islands! The palm tree-lined beaches were incredible, and the water was almost surreal.

Never in my life have I seen such a piercing turquoise blue color.

So I used to paint a lot of animals back when I was using pastels, but I decided to get back to painting them. Since I am a beach artist, I can paint marine animals that will really accent my beach scenes. With the ocean, the marine life possibilities are endless. I can do coral reefs, dolphins, crabs, sea turtles, sea birds, sea shells, starfish, and on and on. 

I recently painted a portrait of my favorite animal, the Wandering albatross. It was so exciting to paint one soaring over a wave. The albatross is one of the most hardy creatures on the planet, spending all of it’s life on the wing, facing the fiercest storms mother nature can deliver. They only touch down on land to breed or find a mate. They are simply the masters of the open ocean.

The Great Wanderer.jpgThe Great Wanderer  Oils on canvas  11×14 inches

https://www.etsy.com/shop/RKBeachPaintings?ref=hdr_shop_menu

We can learn a lot from these beautiful birds. They are a shining example of strength, persistence, and perseverance! And it was an honor to paint one in my palette knife style.

Don’t forget to subscribe to my Youtube channel. I try to post 1 or 2 new videos a month. It has been a process, for sure. But I am learning so much and growing with each new video! Which is all that matters!

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoDaJL5tkFEHCzrC_yYrmcA

I hope that you had an inspiring week of growth and creativity. And if you haven’t tried painting your favorite animal yet, give it a shot. It is a very rewarding experience.

Until next time, let’s bring some color into the world!

-Ryan Kimba

https://fineartamerica.com/profiles/ryan-kimba.html

Official Banner

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings! I love to paint the sea and also enjoy writing and traveling.

Leave a Reply

