Do you have the passion?

I used to be friends with a very talented musician named Drew. Although we no longer talk, we were close for a lot of years. Needless to say, Drew had a lot of problems with himself.

I’ll never forget a conversation we had one night regarding his music. It is forever imprinted upon my memory, and I’d like to share it with you. Drew would write these fantastic original songs on his acoustic guitar, record them, and upload them onto his Soundcloud page.

He was complaining that night in high style, like he often did, about how nobody was listening to, liking, or sharing his songs. He wanted an enormous following overnight.

What are you doing about it?” I asked, somewhat annoyed, but trying to prove a point. And guess what he was doing? Bingo! You guessed it–absolutely nothing.

Um, well, not much. This pisses me off! I’m probably going to give up. This isn’t fun anymore and my songs are going to waste.”

Where Drew went wrong is that he didn’t believe in himself. He had plenty of talent, yet no persistence or drive to better his life or his financial situation. He griped about the lack of plays on his Soundcloud but didn’t want to do anything about it. What’s funny is that there are companies out there that specialize in promoting Soundcloud accounts, for very small fees. He could have also started a blog to spread the word, hired a marketing person, or pushed himself to figure out the market.

Because of his lack of self-worth, he will probably never grace a recording studio to share his gift with the world. At the end of the day he had very little passion and determination.

And this is the plague of so many artists, actors, musicians, and writers; the unwillingness or lack of self-esteem to create the kind of lives that they envision.

What is your dream? And are you taking responsibility for it? Most importantly, do you have passion in your life? What always kills me is to look around at the general population and notice how dead inside they all are. There is no excitement, verve, drive, or motivation to do anything of importance. They are like breathing automatons, living solely to get through the day.

How sad!

I wish for you passion, love, commitment, and dedication. I want those things for all of you. May you use them to build golden stairways into the sky.

I’m happy to say that I do have faith in myself. Sure, I’m not real successful with my art business right now, but I WILL be a success in the future. And it’s because I’m willing to do whatever it takes. And I know that I am taking solid steps forward in getting where I want to go. And it’s only a matter of time until my shop, Youtube channel, website, and this blog catapult me into my dream life of fulfillment, financial freedom, and making a difference.


Here are some new paintings, fresh off the easel! You can find them on my online shop:

http://www/etsy.com/shop/RKBeachPaintings

Untitled-1

 

And if you missed my new Youtube video, you can watch it here:

Until next time, my fellow creators, let’s continue to bring some color into the world, all the while living with passion and purpose!

-Ryan Kimba

http://www.ryankimbaart.com

Official Banner

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings. My works are colorful, vibrant, and richly textured! I am also big into personal development.

Leave a Reply

