How to become a BETTER artist

Every so often I am asked what it takes to become a better artist. There are several crucial answers to that question, in my opinion, but the #1 thing you MUST do to become a better artist is to study art! To grow as an artist you need to continually look at other artwork and study composition, color, and techniques.

As with anything in life, mastering your art takes learning and constant work on your part. I have combed through hundreds of art books and articles, watched over 1,000 art instruction videos on Youtube, spent endless hours beneath the roofs of galleries and museums, and have followed more artists than I care to count.

All of this has made me the painter that I am today.

So my personal advice to you would be to immerse yourself in the world of art…and never come up for air. If your desire is to become a successful professional artist,  you have to make it your life’s mission to develop yourself! If you develop your mind and eye first, your artwork will take care of itself.

Here are some paintings by a couple of my favorite artists:

untitled-1

For those of you that are familiar with my 3-D beach paintings, you can see the influence on my art that these paintings have had. And if it wasn’t for my relentless research over the past 5 years, I would have never discovered these artists and fell in love with their work.

Here is a link to my online shop, where you can see the thick textures and unique qualities of my beach paintings up close and personal https://www.etsy.com/shop/RKBeachPaintings

So to all of you creators out there, learn everything you can about your chosen media. It will add to your depth as a creator and help you find your own special voice that will set you apart from the sea of other artists.

Happy Thanksgiving, and I wish you all a beautiful holiday filled with family, love, and togetherness.

Ryan Kimba

http://www.ryankimbaart.com

 

etsy-banner

 

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings. My works are colorful, vibrant, and richly textured! I am also big into personal development.

Leave a Reply

