Finding Your *True North*

When I was a child I used to travel up north with the guys in my family every labor day weekend. It was always an eventful time, to say the absolute least. Splashing in the icy waves of lake superior, camping, jumping off of piers, hiking, and spelunking in waterfalls! I LOVED going to northern Michigan. There are so many special moments in my heart.

And since I’ve been feeling nostalgic as of late, I decided to create a palette knife painting creating my “ideal” version of the Lake Superior shoreline. I added several elements to rope the viewer in and make it more exciting.

back-to-boyhoodBack to Boyhood. Oils on canvas 11×14″

For those of you who don’t know me–I am a beach artist that specializes in bold and textured paintings using only palette knives. I glop the paint on super thick, creating an almost 3-D like effect that is very interesting.

You can view my paintings at http://www.ryankimbaart.com

Here is an up-close sample revealing my knife work:

2

The big news is that I will be coming to Youtube in the near future. I will be starting my own channel which will be an art tutorial/self-development channel. It has been a long time coming and I am very excited about it. Of course, I’ll let you know when I’ve got my first video up!

Until next time, bring some color into the world. As fellow visionaries, it is your duty. Make something beautiful!

Ryan Kimba

http://www.etsy.com/shop/RKSeascapePaintings

etsy-banner

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings! I love to paint the sea and also enjoy writing and traveling.

Leave a Reply

