PPP! The “Perfect Painter Palette.”

It has taken a few years to find a stable of colors to suit my needs. Every artist has their own colors they prefer. In fact, the colors each artist chooses to use can be a very personal decision.

I started off with a double-primary palette of 2 reds, 2 yellows, and 2 blues along with white and black. I used my double primary for the first year, but since then I have added some additional colors that I couldn’t do without. Now instead of using black, I mix my own chromatic black with Ultramarine Blue and a bit of Burnt Sienna. This makes a colorful and rich black that will NOT dull your other colors like Ivory Black or Mars Black do. One helpful tip is to place your colors in the same position on your palette every time you paint. It makes the painting process more quick and simple.

And since I am a palette knife painter, I love to mix my colors directly onto the canvas! This also cuts down painting time drastically.

Below is my core palette of colors.

Artist Palette

 

*Additional colors I like to use are:

 

Old Holland Green Light

Turquoise Blue Deep

Brilliant Pink

Sap Green

and

Manganese Violet

 

Here is a new painting of a beautiful sunset on the water!

golden-daysGolden Days.” Oils on canvas, 11×14 inches

You can visit my official website at http://www.ryankimbaart.com

To view my online shop, click here https://www.etsy.com/shop/RKBeachPaintings

I hope all of you have had a great week so far, filled with progress and creativity! If you are new to oil painting and are looking to choose a palette of your own, try to keep it simple so that you don’t get overwhelmed. Study the basic colors and how they mix together. And remember that color theory and mixing is a skill that must be developed through practice and looking at things differently. As one artist once put it,”Being a good painter is not about learning how to paint. It’s about learning how to SEE.”

Until next time,

Ryan Kimba

etsy-banner

 

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings! I love to paint the sea and also enjoy writing and traveling.

Leave a Reply

