Art is *NOT* about talent!

I’d like to talk about the widely held belief that artists are more talented then other people. If I had a dollar for every time someone told me that I have’ God-given talent,’ I wouldn’t need to start my own art business. I’ve heard countless times “I wish I could do what you do” and “you were born with tremendous talent, young man,” or “you have a rare gift for creating.” And while I appreciate the positive feedback and recognize that those people meant well…they are still WRONG, to put it bluntly.

Talent and art ARE NOT intertwined. Everything I have learned in art I have had to develop. I have toiled for 10 years to get where I am today. People might say they want to learn to draw or paint, but the stark reality is that they will not put in the effort and work to learn how to do so. So they make excuses by thinking it is a divine gift reserved purely for the fortunate ones.

Anybody can learn how to paint! Given the time, work, and shift in perspective, any willing participant could learn to do what I do. Painting isn’t about learning how to draw and paint, it’s about learning how to “see.” Now that isn’t to say that making art is easy. It certainly isn’t! A lot of times art can be a very exhausting and emotionally draining affair, but it is something that I love and am called to do.

Don’t believe me when I say that anyone can develop the skills and tools to make fantastic art? Let us hop in a time machine…to 10 years ago. Beep, boop….beep….

 

20160717_061438

Here is my very first painting in watercolor of the open ocean. It was created 10 years ago when I was 18 years old.  As you can see it is very abstract and mediocre. Not to mention that fact that it is technically not a sound composition. This was a very humble beginning, I assure you. But I show you this now to prove to you that everybody has to start someone. Nobody is born an art prodigy, even though people think they are.

 

In the field of psychology, people who believe that knowledge, skill, and greatness are birth-rights are called “fixed-minded.” In other words, they have a fixed mindset. If they aren’t great at art right out of the gate, then it’s because they don’t have a knack for it. Sounds crazy, huh? Yet people in the “growth mindset” believe that all talent and ability must be worked at and refined. These are the artists who continuously strive to master their craft. People who will NEVER give up, like me. What if I had quit after glancing at that painting 10 years ago? Instead I decided to push through until I was able to create the painting you see below.

Image 1 (7)

So to all of you out there–you can achieve anything in life as long as you have a burning passion to learn and grow. The world is at your feet!!!

In my next post I will be revealing my color palette, and how each color works together in creating my beach paintings. It should be very fun and informative.

Until then, improve your techniques, and above all, have a blast painting!

Logo

visit my shop at

https://www.etsy.com/shop/RKSeascapePaintings?ref=hdr_shop_menu

 

To view my personal website, go to

http://www.ryankimbaart.com/

 

http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/ryan-kimba.html

 

 

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings. My works are colorful, vibrant, and richly textured! I am also big into personal development.

Leave a Reply

