Middle School Memories!

One day in 8th grade art class I got kicked out of my room for fooling around, like I usually did. The teacher came into the hall and proceeded to tell me “you will NEVER go anywhere as an artist!” Wow! Was that ever a shocking and awful thing to hear at such a tender developmental stage in my creative life.

The problem is that I must have carried that with me, even if only unconsciously. To this day I still hear a voice in my head that tells me I’m not good enough. Yet the thing is, that voice does not come from ME. It is the collective byproduct of everything anyone has ever told me. And most of those are negative, I have to add.

The negative voices in our heads come from other people!

What things do you tell yourself that have no basis in reality?

 

I can think of a few things artists hear on a regular basis:

 

“Get a REAL job!”

“You can’t make money selling art.”

“Art is just a hobby.”

“Artists are lazy and insubordinate.”

“You won’t be recognized until you are dead.”

“My 5 year old daughter could paint that!”

Good grief! Is it any wonder why artists have such low self worth and self esteems? I guess what I am trying to say is that you need to believe in yourself. That is the only way you can become successful. I thank Mrs. Boyle for what she said to me all those years ago, because it gave me the fire to prove her and everybody else wrong. It gave me a reason for being.

Don’t forget to check out my new shop on etsy

https://www.etsy.com/shop/RKSeascapePaintings?ref=hdr_shop_menu

 

And until next time,

Put some good voices in your head! And those can only come from you 🙂

Logo

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/Ryan-Kimba-Seascape-Painter-1058228814241949/

http://www.ryankimbaart.com/

Author: ryankimba

I am a beach artist specializing in palette knife paintings! I love to paint the sea and also enjoy writing and traveling.

Leave a Reply

